Skip to content

May 28, 2014

Be clear. Whiteness is not my mile marker. It is not my goal. It is not my comparison group. It is not my standard. And neither are its derivatives like respectability politics, PWIs, “proper English”, “good grammar”, 401Ks, home ownership, or anything else. I do not privilege Whiteness over blackness. I do not find more prestige in Harvard over Howard. I do not value the idea of Black Ivy Leagues. I do not need to read books that position the white gaze at their epicenters. I am not more affirmed by my white colleagues over my black dope boys on the block. I do not value Wall Street over Auburn Ave.
–The Ignant Intellectual

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

